Deadly Ever After

Kristen of All Trades, Master of…

Today’s Brew:  So much coffee.  I’m in the middle of working on an infomercial.

by Kristen

I’m an Aries.  The horoscope app on my phone suggests “Aries people need to keep physically busy. They accomplish many things simply because of their restless energy. They need to learn how to make constructive use of their energetic efforts. The typical Aries urge is to take on more than can be done reasonably well. Though others may find it difficult to keep pace with an Aries, they are attracted to their animation and spirited personality.”

I’m guilty of all of these things.  I just sent someone an email that said “I’m probably going to make your head spin.”  I have friends who refuse to go on vacation with me because they can’t keep up.

I share a birthday with Steven Tyler and Diana Ross.  Flanking Ms. Ross, Mr. Tyler, and I are Elton John and Mariah Carey.  Can you think of a more extroverted group of people?  This may also explain some of my more eccentric wardrobe choices.

Add to the mix way too many years in middle management.  I can’t help but want to dive in and fix problems I see, fill gaps, meet quotas.

This has all been good for my career as a freelancer.  I’ve worked hard to not have to own dress pants and be able to support myself.  So far, I feel that it’s been good for my career as a writer.  I’m not afraid to get out there, try new things.  I believe in Go Big or Go Home.

But then I see opportunities.  Things I desperately want to fix.  I have ideas, you guys.  Lots of them.  I get excited about them.  But how do I pursue so many things?  Technically I already have two careers, makeup and writing (one of these days, someone will break down and give me some money in exchange for my words and I can be a legit, money earning author.).  Do I have time to pursue new things?  Can I be fair to everything I’ve committed to?  When is it time to try something new and when should I just stop listening to all the awesome ideas my brain dreams up?

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Kristen of All Trades, Master of…

  1. Well spoken, my fellow Aries 🙂

  2. I’m a Gemini. My birthday, May 30, is the Feast of Saint Joan (Joan of Arc, and it is the day she was burned at the stake.) I completely understand that go-getter attitude. I WANT TO DO EVERYTHING all the time. And I want to do ALL the business ventures. I have serious trouble choosing what is the most important. *hugs* I understand the frustration.

    So basically, when you figure this out, let me know, okay? ‘Cause I think that I’d be willing to take your advice if you do. ❤

  3. No way, never stop listening to your brain’s ideas! There’s a difference between not listening, and not ACTING on what you hear 😉

    My sole piece of advice here is to write it all down. Make lists. I’m a big fan of lists (no, I’m not a Virgo, but it IS my rising sign…). The beauty of lists is that you have, in some sense, both listened and acted on what your brain created – without taking precious time away from stuff you were already working on. Then, you can also go back to those lists when you need new ideas.

    I have no idea if this will work or not, but I still do love lists 🙂

So what do you think?